Where Adventure & Travel Meet

* Where is AUSTRIA Located? [Austria Map]

Where is Austria Located?
Map of AUSTRIA Location … Where is Austria in the World?

Where is AUSTRIA located on the map?

Austria is a country of Central Europe, member of the European Union. In Austria, the country is called Österreich.

Austria is bordered by the Czech Republic to the north; Slovakia to the northeast; Hungary to the east; Slovenia, Italy, and Switzerland to the south; Liechtenstein, Switzerland, and Germany to the west.

Austria is divided into 9 provinces: Burgenland, Carinthia, Lower Austria, Salzburg, Styria, Tyrol, Upper Austria, Vienna and Vorarlberg. The Länder enforce federal laws on elections, communications and public assistance. They also manage all matters of local interest that are not the responsibility of the state. The districts (Bezirkshauptmannschaften) and the communes are subordinate to them.

Vienna is the capital city of the country. Other important cities include Graz, a center of heavy industry; Linz, provincial capital of Upper Austria and port on the Danube; Salzburg, cultural and tourist center; and Innsbruck, Tyrol’s provincial capital and tourist town.

With Switzerland, it is the most alpine country in Europe. The pre-Alps of Bavaria, Salzburg, the Carinthian, Styrian, Tauern and Tyrolean Alps alone cover 80% of the population. 100 of the country. The subalpine regions are limited to a few narrow plains and the Danube basin. The relief of Austria is recent and the configuration of the Eastern Alps, which constitute most of the Austrian territory, three parallel bands aligned from east to west, is typical of the Alpine systems. There is a very high first zone, the Hohe Tauern, which culminates in Grossglockner (3797 m) and whose altitude decreases towards the east; then, to the south, the high Alps, separated from the Carnic Alps by the furrow of the Drava. To the north, they are doubled by Prealps, which develop beyond the high valleys of the tributaries of the Danube, the Inn, the Salzach, the Enns and the Leitha. These rivers join the Danube to the north, separating the Prealps by beautiful transverse cluses. To the north, the Prealps fall and meet the Danubian plain. To the east, the Danube Valley widens after Vienna in the Moravian Plain and, to the southeast, between the Leitha and the Styrian Alps, in Burgenland – which is an advance of the Great Hungarian Plain . The average altitude of the country is close to 910 m. The main chains include the North Tyrol Alps and the Salzburg Alps. In the center, the Noric Alps with the Hohe Tauern and the Nieder Tauern, in the south, the Carnic Alps and the Karawanken Alps. The Austrian Alps, as in Italy, are pierced by passes, the most important of which are the Brenner Pass and the Semmering Pass. North of the Danube, Austria has only the southern fallout of the Bohemian Massif.

The plains are located in the northern and eastern border areas. The northern part corresponds to high undulating plateaus, and the eastern border region lies partly in the Danube basin.

Did you know
where AUSTRIA is in the World?

Coastin Carl

Riding rollercoasters led me to travel. FollowthePIN is merely an extension of the travel guidance I've been giving since 2001. Now in the planning mode for Phase III of RTW for the BTWs. (Round the World)

View stories

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *