* Where is GREECE Located? [Greece Map]

Where is Greece Located?

Where is the GREECE located on the map?

Greece is a country in southeastern Europe, at the end of the Balkan peninsula, a member of the European Union. In Greek the country is called Ellás or Elláda.

Greece is bordered on the north-west by Albania, on the north by Macedonia and Bulgaria, on the north-east by Turkey, on the east by the Aegean Sea, on the south by the Mediterranean Sea and on the west. by the Ionian Sea. About a fifth of the territory consists of islands in the Aegean and Ionian seas.

Mainland Greece comprises, from north to south: Thrace (along the Bulgarian and Turkish border); Macedonia, extended to the south by Chalkidiki, a peninsula separated from the mainland by the Thermaic gulf, forming three peninsulas (Kassandra, Sithonia, and Mount Athos, which culminates at 2,032 m); Epirus, near the Albanian frontier, extended to the south by Aetolia, separated from Thessaly by the mountains of Pindus. To the south of central Greece is the Peloponnese, a peninsula connected to the mainland by the Isthmus of Corinth, which separates the Aegean Sea from the Ionian Sea and crosses the Corinth Canal.

Where is the country of GREECE situated?

Greece Map

Euboea, an elongated island facing Attica, in mainland Greece, is separated from it by the Euripe Canal. All the islands of the Aegean Sea, with the exception of Imbros and Tenedos, which belong to Turkey, are part of Greece: in the north, the Northern Sporades (Skiathos, Skopelos, Skíros, Alonissos), off from Chalkidiki and Thrace, the islands of Thasos, Samothrace and Limnos; to the east, the islands of Lesbos and Chios facing the Turkish coast, and further south the islands of the Dodecanese (or Southern Sporades), the main ones are Samos, Ikaria, Patmos, Leros, Kalymnos, Kos, Rhodes and Karpathos; in the center, the Cyclades (Ándros, Delos, Tinos, Paros, Naxos, Milo, Amorgos, Santorini or Thira, etc.), separated from Crete, to the south, by the Cretan Sea; close to the mainland, the islands of the Saronic Gulf (mainly Aegina, Poros, Hydra, Spetsai).

To the west of the continent and north of the Peloponnese are the islands of the Ionian Sea (mainly Corfu, Lefkada, Ithaca, Cephalonia and Zante), also called Heptanese.

The physical aspect of Greece is characterized by the predominance of rugged mountainous reliefs, which occupy about 45 per cent of the population. 100 of the territory, the fragmentation of 20 p. 100 of the country in islands, a very tormented coastal landscape which extends on 13 676 km, and the scarcity of the plains.

The backbone of the country, extending from the Dinaric Alps, is the Pindos Mountains, which cross Greece from the Albanian border to the Gulf of Corinth; they shelter Mount Parnassus (2,457 m), culminate at Mount Smolikas (2,637 m), and extend into the Peloponnese (Taygetus Mountains, Mount Erymanthus and Mount Silene). To the east of the Pinde, other massifs, crossed by the valley of Aliákmon, fall down to the Aegean Sea and culminate with Mount Olympus (2 917 m), the highest peak of the country. A veritable barrier separating the Ionian coast from the rest of the country, particularly from the Thessaly plain, this mountainous region is the most rugged and least populated region in Greece. In the north-east, in Thrace and in eastern Macedonia, along the Bulgarian border, the Rhodope descends to the coastal plain. These mountainous regions are interspersed with valleys covered with forests or pastures.

The main plains are Thessaly, the Axios plain in Central Macedonia, and the Thracian coastline. They are mainly oriented towards agriculture, especially to cereals and tobacco.

Thrace and Macedonia are traversed from east to west by Nestos, Strimonas, Aliákmon and Axios, the latter two rivers flowing into the Gulf of Thermaic. The Evros, born in Bulgaria under the name of Marica, borders the Greco-Turkish border. The Struma crosses the Rhodope Mountains before flowing into the Aegean Sea. The territory includes various lakes, including Lake Kastorias, Lake Verghoritis and Lake Prespa, shared with Albania. The Pinios, which has its source in the mountains of Pindus, is the main river of Thessaly; Arkhatos and Thiamis flow into Epirus, while central Greece is watered by the Aspheloos, cut by Lake Kremasta, Sperhios and Acheloos, which discharge their waters into the Gulf of Patras. The principal rivers of the Peloponnese are Penea and Alpheus, which discharge their waters into the Ionian Sea; the Assopos, cut by Lake Stymphalus, which flows into the Gulf of Corinth, and the Eurotas, which joins the Cretan Sea in the Gulf of Laconia.

Did you know
where GREECE is in the World?

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.