* Where is MICRONESIA Located? [Micronesia Map]

Where is Micronesia Located?

Where is MICRONESIA located on the map?

Micronesia (Federated States of Micronesia) is a country in Oceania, located in the Western Pacific. Micronesia is located north of the equator and New Guinea. It includes the islands of the Carolinas Archipelago (with the exception of Belau).

Micronesia, one of the regions of Oceania so named by Jules Dumont d’Urville, extends far beyond the territory of this State and also includes the Marshall Islands, part of Kiribati (Gilbert Islands and Banaba), Mariana Islands (United States), Nauru and Palau.

The Federated States of Micronesia consists of 607 islands spread over 2,900 km through the Carolinas Islands archipelago in the Micronesian Pacific Ocean region of eastern Philippines. The land area is 702 km2 and lies between latitudes 1 ° 1’28 “N and 10 ° 5’25” N and longitudes 137 ° 20 ° 10 “E and 163 ° 2’13” E. Islands are distributed between four states, Yap, Chuuk (called Truk until January 1990), Pohnpei (called Ponape until 1984) and Kosrae. Delap-Uliga-Darrit, in the Marshall Islands, is 1,459 km eastward from the federation capital, Palikir; the latter being separated from Guam by 1,638 km to the west-northwest. Melekeok, in the Palau Islands, lies 445 km west-southwest of Colonia, the capital of Yap, when it is 845 km west-southwest of Hagåtña, Guam. Although politically owned by the Federated States of Micronesia, the islands of Nukuoro and Kapingamarangi do not belong to the region of Micronesia. They are Polynesian exclaves.

Where is the country of MICRONESIA situated?

Micronesia Map

The borders of the Federated States of Micronesia are exclusively maritime. They define the exclusive economic zones of Micronesia (2,992,415 km2) within a limit of 200 nautical miles (approximately 370 km) as a result of its accession to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea of ​​29 April 1991. Maritime boundaries have been delineated with the Marshall Islands to the northeast, with Papua New Guinea to the south, with Palau to the southwest, and with the United States via Guam to the northwest, the distance between these territories and the Federated States of Micronesia being less than 400 nautical miles. The current border with the Marshall Islands and Palau has been established by two bilateral treaties signed at Majuro in the Marshall Islands on 5 July 2006. It defines the border with Palau (more than 740 km) as segments linking fifty geolocated points and that with the Marshall Islands (approximately 1,400 km) by segments linking eleven points. The United States border with Guam (approximately 830 km) is determined by a treaty signed on August 1, 2014 in Koror, Palau, setting sixteen points connected by segments. The border with Papua New Guinea was the subject of a first treaty dated 29 July 19918,9 and signed in Palikir in the State of Pohnpei, corrected as a result of technological advances on 7 September 2015 in Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea.

It consists of four states: Kosrae (109 km2), Pohnpei (344 km2), Chuuk (127 km2) and Yap (101 km2). The main cities of the country are Palikir (the capital), Coonia, Weno, Kolonia and Tofol.

Micronesia is made up of mountainous volcanic islands covered by rainforest and coral atolls (low islands where coconut palms and breadfruit trees grow).

The Federated States of Micronesia is one of the poorest countries in the world. The economy is dependent on external aid (notably American, although these have gradually decreased in recent years); the unemployment rate is very high; the trade deficit is strong.

Did you know
where MICRONESIA is in the World?

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.