* Where is LUXEMBOURG Located? [Luxembourg Map]

Where is Luxembourg Located?

Where is FINLAND located on the map?

Luxembourg, in long form the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg, in Luxemburgish Lëtzebuerg and Groussherzogtum Lëtzebuerg, in German Luxemburg and Großherzogtum Luxemburg, is a country in Western Europe without access to the sea. It is bordered by Belgium to the west and north, Germany to the east, and France to the south. It comprises two main regions: Oesling to the north, which is part of the Ardennes massif, and Gutland to the south, an extension of Lorraine in the geological sense of the term. Luxembourg has 576,249 inhabitants in 2016, and covers an area of ​​2,586 km2, making it one of the smallest sovereign nations in Europe.

Luxembourg is a representative democracy and a constitutional monarchy with a Grand Duke as head of state, making the country the only remaining Grand Duchy. Its highly dynamic economy makes it one of the richest and most prosperous countries in the world, with the highest GDP per capita in the world according to the IMF in 2014. The economy is mainly focused on financial activities (about half of the world’s economy). gross domestic product, favored by attractive or even derisory taxation in certain areas (quasi-tax exemption for profits from the exploitation of patents or software). The central location of Luxembourg’s territory in Europe has historically made it a place of great strategic importance for many powers, since its founding as a Roman fortress, its reception of a freehold castle during the High Middle Ages, and its role of bastion for the way of the Spaniards between the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.

Luxembourg is the smallest founding member of the European Union, the euro area, NATO, the OECD, the UN, the OSCE, the Council of Europe and the Benelux, reflecting its political consensus in favor of economic, political and military integration. The city of Luxembourg, its capital and largest city, is home to several EU institutions and institutions. In 2012, Luxembourg was elected for the first time in its history to a temporary seat on the UN Security Council. Because of its geographical position, Luxembourgish culture is a fusion of Germanic and Romanesque Europe, integrating both. As a result, Luxembourg is a trilingual country: Luxembourgish, French and German are the three official languages, and since 1984 Luxembourgish has the legal status of “national language”.

Did you know
where LUXEMBOURG is in the World?

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *