* Where is NORTH KOREA Located? [North Korea Map]

Where is North Korea Located?

Where is NORTH KOREA located on the map?

North Korea is an East Asian country, located in the northern part of the Korean peninsula. In Korean, the country is called Chosŏn. North Korea is bordered to the north by China, to the northeast by Russia, to the east by the Sea of Japan, to the south by South Korea and to the west by the Yellow Sea.

On the administrative side, North Korea comprises nine provinces: North Hamgyong, South Hamgyong, Yangang, Jagang, North Pyeongan, South Pyeongan, Gangweon, North Hwanghae, South Hwanghae.

The capital Pyongyang is the main industrial city of the country, it has more than 2.5 million inhabitants (in 2008). Other major cities are Chongjin, an industrial center and port in the north-east of the country; Wonsan, the seaport of Japan to the south of the country, and Kaesong, near the South Korean border.

Where is the country of NORTH KOREA situated?

North Korea Map

North Korea stretches for about 400 km from north to south, reaching a maximum width of 110 km from east to west. The country is bordered on the south by the 38th parallel, which marks the border with South Korea. Nearly 75 per cent 100 of its territory has a mountainous and rugged terrain.

Much of the country is occupied by the Kaema Plateau, topped by the Nangnim and Hamgyong ranges to the northeast. These are connected to the north, Changbai Shan, mountainous system dominated by volcanism, where is located the highest point of the country, Paektu san (“White Head”, 2744 m). Located on the border with China, this ancient volcano is home to a 310-meter deep crater lake, Celeste Lake.

In the south of the country, the Chugaryong Depression, a vast tectonic divide extending from Seoul (South Korea) to Wonsan on the eastern coast, separates the northern ranges of the Taebaek Range, which extends into South Korea. .

The plains cover less than one-fifth of the total area of ​​North Korea. They are mainly found around the coast. Forming a thin coastal strip on the Sea of ​​Japan, in the east, they widen to the west, on the Yellow Sea, where they constitute fertile alluvial plains, vital for the agriculture of the country.

The main rivers of the country are Yalu and Tumen. Taking their source from Paektu san, they mark the border with China. The Yalu (790 km) drains the Kaema plateau and empties into the Yellow Sea. It is interspersed with sandbanks and reefs and can only be navigated in the last 80 kilometers of its course. Tributary to the Sea of Japan, the Tumen (590 km) flows to the east. The other rivers are Taedong, Chong-chon and Chaeryong.

North Korea has a much harsher continental climate than South Korea; the 38th parallel plays, in a way, the role of a climatic boundary. The North Korean climatic complex is governed by the latitude, the relief and the presence of the monsoon. The climate is close to that of Manchuria, with hot summers and cold winters. The average winter temperature at Wonsan in the south is -3.9 ° C, but it is much lower in the north of the country and on the Gaema plateau, where it reaches -20 ° C in January. Annual precipitation varies between 800 and 1300 mm, depending on the region. The pack ice appears at the end of the northeast coast for several weeks at the bottom of the Gulf of Korea; she remains several months on the shores of the North Sea of Japan.

Did you know
where NORTH KOREA is in the World?

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.